rigid floor
rigid floor
I build a high frame structure with beam and column, but without floorslap. I need each floor to move only in x or y direction under horizontal load, without vertical moving. Maybe I need to set the floor rigid, so the floor can only move horizontally. Is there this configuration?
- Attachments
-
- 269.png (610.18 KiB) Viewed 5085 times
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am
Re: rigid floor
Of course you can do it, but you need to explain better what you want to do. From your explaination it seems you what your floors to move rigidly only in X or Y direction but be fixed in Z... But I think what you really want to do is the rigidDiaphragm (the floor keeps its shape in the plane, but the beams of the floor can bend in the out-of-plane direction).
If you want to do this in STKO you need to follow these steps for each floor:
If you want to do this in STKO you need to follow these steps for each floor:
- draw a master-node representing the center-of-mass of the floor (optional, you can also use an existing node if you have one more or less near the center-of-mass)
- fix it in the Uz-Rx-Ry DOFs (if you created a new hanging node as in step 1)
- crate an interaction (master = master-node, slaves = all nodes of the floor)
- assign a constraints.mp.rigidDiaphragm to the interactions, choosing $perpDirn = 3 (i.e. the normal to the plane is the Z axis)
Re: rigid floor
Yeah, you get my words. Thank you.
And after creating a new hanging master-node, and fixing it in the Uz-Rx-Ry DOFs, do I need to merge it with the existed merged model?
And after creating a new hanging master-node, and fixing it in the Uz-Rx-Ry DOFs, do I need to merge it with the existed merged model?
Re: rigid floor
I find that when the master-node is out of the model it can't run correctly, but when the master-node is one node of the model, it run well.
- Attachments
-
- d478637beca05c4f6fd96de9a7e58cb.png (191.97 KiB) Viewed 5078 times
Re: rigid floor
When I locate the the mass center, I find that it is out of the model.
So I create a new hanging master-node, and fix it in the Uz-Rx-Ry DOFs, then do I need to merge it with the existed merged model?
So I create a new hanging master-node, and fix it in the Uz-Rx-Ry DOFs, then do I need to merge it with the existed merged model?
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am
Re: rigid floor
No you don't need to merge it, just connect it with the slave nodes with an interaction and assign a rigidDiaphragm to the interaction
Re: rigid floor
When I set the mass center(master-node) of the rigid floor at the existed node of the model, the analysis result is shown as photo 1, which is correct.
But when I set the mass center(master-node) at the new added hanging node out of the model, it produces photo 2, where there are incorrect results and some errors.
What is the matter? It is strange.
But when I set the mass center(master-node) at the new added hanging node out of the model, it produces photo 2, where there are incorrect results and some errors.
What is the matter? It is strange.
- Attachments
-
- 2.png (144.92 KiB) Viewed 5062 times
-
- 1.png (89.24 KiB) Viewed 5062 times
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am
Re: rigid floor
Looking at the warings
ProfileSPDLinDirectSolver::solve() - aii < 0
it means that some diagonal elements in the stiffness matrix are 0, so the matrix is not positive definite.
If you use the rigidDiaphragm with direction Z, then it links the dofs Ux,Uy,Rz to those of the slave nodes, but the other 3 dofs are free. You said you fixed them, but are you sure you added those fix constraints in a constraintPattern?
If this is not the problem send us the input file and we will have a look
ProfileSPDLinDirectSolver::solve() - aii < 0
it means that some diagonal elements in the stiffness matrix are 0, so the matrix is not positive definite.
If you use the rigidDiaphragm with direction Z, then it links the dofs Ux,Uy,Rz to those of the slave nodes, but the other 3 dofs are free. You said you fixed them, but are you sure you added those fix constraints in a constraintPattern?
If this is not the problem send us the input file and we will have a look