Using Multiple Computers

Post Reply
vokumus
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:07 pm

Using Multiple Computers

Post by vokumus » Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:15 pm

Hi STKO Team;

Is it possible to solve models using multiple computers using Prof. Tarque's pack?

Thanks.
Vefa OKUMUS
MSc. Structural Engineer
PhD candidate.
Software Developer.
Istanbul - Turkey

STKO Team
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:45 am

Re: Using Multiple Computers

Post by STKO Team » Tue Dec 15, 2020 9:21 am

It can be done, but you need some experience with it or you need to contact a technician.
Here is a reference on how to build your own small hpc cluster from multiple windows machines
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wi ... uster.aspx

vokumus
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: Using Multiple Computers

Post by vokumus » Thu Dec 17, 2020 9:37 pm

I see. Do you have any suggestions for analyzing large SSI models like with 200-300k elements? While monitoring my system resources, I realized that computer RAM (16GB) is used almost full. Maybe adding more ram may increase the speed?
Vefa OKUMUS
MSc. Structural Engineer
PhD candidate.
Software Developer.
Istanbul - Turkey

STKO Team
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:45 am

Re: Using Multiple Computers

Post by STKO Team » Fri Dec 18, 2020 9:23 am

For sure it will speed up. I've seen that I get best performance when I have about 10k elements for each process and at least 1 GB RAM for each process. for a model with 200k elements probably you would need at least 10 processors and like 32 Gb RAM

vokumus
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:07 pm

Re: Using Multiple Computers

Post by vokumus » Sat Dec 19, 2020 9:54 am

Thanks for this valuable information.
Vefa OKUMUS
MSc. Structural Engineer
PhD candidate.
Software Developer.
Istanbul - Turkey

Post Reply