Run and Post Processing issue

Filip
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:22 am

Run and Post Processing issue

Post by Filip » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:41 am

Dear all,

The first issue that i encountered when i tried to run my analysis i got the message that OpenSees.exe is not recognized as an internal or external command, but i managed to solve it by copying the opensees_303 batch file and OpenSees.exe file in the folder where i wanted to have my results. I dont know if that is the default procedure or is a problem from my side.

After running the analysis which i hope is succsessful i got the 7 .tcl files and .mpco.cdata file. Now the problem is that the .mpco.cdata file can not be loaded in the post prosessor... how should i solve this obstacle?

Thanks, Filip

MassimoPetracca
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by MassimoPetracca » Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:16 am

Dear Filip,

Issue 1:
"OpenSees.exe is not recognized as an internal or external command ...", this is weird because the "opensees_303.bat" file should set up the PATH environment variable so that the operating system can find OpenSees.exe and all its dependencies.

Issue 2:
Moving the batch file and OpenSees.exe to another directory is not enough, you need to copy also other dependencies that are in the "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\bin" folder. For this reason OpenSees.exe cannot find the hdf5 libraries and so it should exit with an error, without producing the output database *.mpco file. Note that is the *.mpco file that should be loaded into the post processor, not the *.mpco.cdata (which instead is a support file created by STKO to support the post processor with extra info, and it is loaded automatically is a *mpco file with the same name is loaded)

But let's first try to solve Issue 1, as that is the correct way of doing things, but I need more info:
  • Go into "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees"
  • Edit "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\opensees_303.bat" with a text editor (I use Notepad++) with administrator right (Notepad++ > Right Click > Run as Administrator) and comment the first line
    batch_file.PNG
    batch_file.PNG (17.84 KiB) Viewed 800 times
  • run the batch file and it should print the PATH variable and then start the OpenSees interpreter. Reply to this post
    attaching a screenshot of the command line that you see, so we can see what is the source of errors.
    batch_file_2.PNG
    batch_file_2.PNG (226.35 KiB) Viewed 800 times
  • Note: to attach an image in your post:
    batch_file_3.PNG
    batch_file_3.PNG (43.65 KiB) Viewed 800 times

Filip
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:22 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by Filip » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:11 am

Dear Massimo,

Thank you for your help. Now i will attach the screenshots from my steps and i hope it will help you detect the problem.
  • fig. 1 shows what happens when i run the batch file without any intervention
    01.PNG
    01.PNG (35.47 KiB) Viewed 795 times
  • fig. 2 shows the intervention as you suggested
    02.PNG
    02.PNG (19.36 KiB) Viewed 795 times
  • fig. 3 shows the response after the intervention
    03.PNG
    03.PNG (32.53 KiB) Viewed 795 times

Filip
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:22 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by Filip » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:13 am

  • fig. 4 shows the response of STKO when i run it with intervention in batch file
    04.PNG
    04.PNG (38.62 KiB) Viewed 795 times
  • fig. 5 shows the original problem, no interventions and not copied opensees.exe in the file directory
    05.PNG
    05.PNG (10.24 KiB) Viewed 795 times

MassimoPetracca
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by MassimoPetracca » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:05 am

Dear Filip,

This is even stranger than what I expected! From fig.1 and fig.3 I see that if you run the batch file manually inside "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees" it can find OpenSees.exe, in fact you see the OpenSees interpreter cmd line.

But (fig.4 fig.5) when you run it from STKO, it runs the batch file from the directory where you have the TCL files (in your case "C:\Users\Filip\Desktop\New folder". And in that case it cannot find OpenSees.exe, even if the PATH variable is correctly set as shown in fig.5!

1) Can you confirm that "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\OpenSees_303" contains OpenSees.exe?
2) Try to save your model in a directory not on the desktop, and run the analysis (show me the error in the cmd line, if the error is still there)
3) Try to run STKO as administrator and run the analysis (show me the error in the cmd line, if the error is still there)
4) If none of the previous worked, open a cmd line, move into the directory where you have your TCL files ("C:\Users\Filip\Desktop\New folder") and type "opensees_303.bat main.tcl" (show me the error in the cmd line, if the error is still there)

If the issue is still there we can arrange a skype call, and we can try some other approaches.

Filip
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:22 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by Filip » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:22 am

Dear Massimo,

I tried everything again and no results.
  • fig.1 the STKO folder in Program Files contains the OpenSees.exe file
    01.PNG
    01.PNG (25.38 KiB) Viewed 788 times
  • fig.2 i copied the files in another directory (C and D partitions separately) runned STKO as admin and the same error appears
    02.PNG
    02.PNG (6.82 KiB) Viewed 788 times
  • the fourth step, i couldnt manage to do it neither
Since it looks really strange, maybe we could arrange a direct link by PM and if we find the solution we could post it here as a response later...

Regards, Filip

MassimoPetracca
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by MassimoPetracca » Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:12 am

Found! you have OpenSees.exe in "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees", while it should be in "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\bin\OpenSees_303", because the opensees_303.batch file assumes it is located there.

Since this happened, I think you downloaded STKO without OpenSees, because if you downloaded STKO+OpenSees the OpenSees executable would have been in the right location.

So I assume you are using your own version of OpenSees. That's fine but it is a version prior to 3.0.0, it will not have the "mpco" recorder, and so it will not produce the results of STKO.

Filip
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:22 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by Filip » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:27 pm

Dear Massimo,

Unfortunately i still can not get the output file. I did copied OpenSees in the directory that you suggested (you were right, the bin\opensees directory was empty) and the only improvement is that STKO runs the main.tcl without the need of the batch and opensees to be in the folder with main.tcl file. The version that i have is 3.0.3 64-bit Windows. PLease find attached the screenshots with text part of the analyses.
Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (72.73 KiB) Viewed 784 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (99.88 KiB) Viewed 784 times
Is it in the end maybe a mistake that i might be doing in the preprocessing part ?!

MassimoPetracca
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by MassimoPetracca » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:41 pm

Dear Filip,
Everything is ok, it looks like OpenSees started and managed to load the HDF5 library correctly. I don't see any error message, so you should see the results (*.mpco file). If this is not the case, send me your pre processing file *.scd (attach it to a reply) and I will have a look, probably the analysis steps are not set up correctly.

EDITED:
I've just figured out the reason why you don't see the output *mpco file, by looking at the screenshot (fig. 1). You have 2 analysis steps:
  • eigen
  • MPCORecorder
The probelm is that the recorder will be written in the TCL after the eigen command, and so it will not record anything, since in OpenSees a recorder can only record results computed after it has been created. So just move the recorder command up in the WorkTree using the up/down arrows in the header of the WorkTree (left click on the MPCORecorder item and click on the UP arrow in the top-left corner of the WorkTree).

This is enough in 99% of the case, i.e. when you have other analyses after the eigen command. However in this case you only have the eigen command! Unfortunately in OpenSees the "eigen" command does not automatically call the "record" command, which instead is called by "analyze". So whenever you want to compute only the eigen analysis, just create a 3rd analysis step of type "CustomCommand" where you can insert your own TCL code. In this case we just need to put the "record" command
custom command.png
custom command.png (67.73 KiB) Viewed 781 times

Filip
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:22 am

Re: Run and Post Processing issue

Post by Filip » Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:01 pm

Dear Massimo,

Finally the problem is solved. I get the results file and the analysis goes fine. Unfortunately when i try to load the database in post processing part i get some error again but in order not to bother you additionally i will try to solve that issue and if i fail i will let you know :)

thank you very much for the help so far
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (37.81 KiB) Viewed 780 times

Post Reply