Importing from tcl

Hello! In this section we'll talk about the post processing module and the data visualization.
MassimoPetracca
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:10 am

Re: Importing from tcl

Post by MassimoPetracca » Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:08 am

The same issue discussed in this post few days ago:
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=73#p112

alfonsogdr
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:31 am

Re: Importing from tcl

Post by alfonsogdr » Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:39 am

I have just downloaded STKO 1.1.0 and i want to use the mpco but I don't have this directory "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\bin\OpenSees_303". I dont know where do I have to place my tcl files or my Opensees.exe in order to make this work. Thank you very much. Kind regards.

bruno05
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 4:33 pm

Re: Importing from tcl

Post by bruno05 » Mon Jul 20, 2020 4:11 pm

probably you have not installed Opensees.
You can read this discussion:

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1644&p=2070&hilit= ... view#p2070

Zeeshanbhat
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 3:48 pm

Re: Importing from tcl

Post by Zeeshanbhat » Wed Jan 06, 2021 9:44 am

MassimoPetracca wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:07 pm
Dear Ali,

You don't need to install the HDF5 library by yourself. The necessary redistributables are located in the STKO install directory (typically in "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\bin\hdf5").

If for some reason you want to install HDF5 by yourself, you need a specific version: 1.10.1. Unfortunately the installer for that version is not available anymore on the HDF5 website, but the source cose is there and you can compile it.

If you downloaded the STKO+OpenSees package, then you already have OpenSees.exe (version 3.0.3) located in "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\bin\OpenSees_303".
There is also a batch script "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\opensees_303.bat" that takes care of setting up the necessary environment variables so that OpenSees can find HDF5 and all other dependencies.

So to summarize, what I suggest is to run your model in this way:
  • Go in the directory where you have your TCL files
  • Open a terminal window
    open_terminal.PNG
  • Type the following commad:
    "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\opensees_303.bat" your_tcl_script.tcl
    run_opensees_batch.PNG
Note: If you downloaded STKO alone (no OpenSees.exe included) and you are using your own OpenSees.exe, you can just copy your OpenSees.exe in "C:\Program Files\STKO\opensees\bin\OpenSees_303" and you are ready to go, as all the other dependencies are already there.

Let me know if this solves your problem.

Best regards

Massimo Petracca
I could not find this path in my STKO Program. Had it been changed?

STKO Team
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:45 am

Re: Importing from tcl

Post by STKO Team » Thu Jan 07, 2021 9:38 am

That location only existed in previous version of STKO that included OpenSees. Now OpenSees is not included anymore with STKO, that's why you don't find that folder.

Anyway, if you need the HDF5 dlls, they are in the C:\Program Files\STKO (hdf5.dll, szip.dll, zlib.dll)

Post Reply